The Falls Music and Arts Festival – Marion Bay

Every year the Falls Music and Arts Festival brings some of the biggest names in music to the state for 3 days. This year proved no exception as renowned artists like Interpol, The Klaxons and Angus and Julia Stone graced the Falls stage. The festival was very well organized with a higher police presence, while I heard many say there were too many it certainly helped me feel safer at the festival and I was able to enjoy it a lot more.

The Main Stage was a center point of entertainment featuring everyone from Tassie’s own Ben Wells and The Middle names right through to classic rockers Joan Jett and the Blackhearts and The Klaxons all gracing the stage and doing what they do best, entertain. The Field Stage was also a very good selection with Charlie Parr, Kitty, Daisy and Lewis as well as The Bamboos and more comedians than you can poke a Tornado Potato at. Including the likes of Josh Earl and Tom Gleeson.

The Falls Art Village had another year of the wacky, weird and talented. The Diamonds of Burlesque and Danger Academy stole the show in the Moonhouse as well as an ‘Animated/Musical/Tarrentino style retelling of the story of Mary MacKillop’ in the Shipping House. There were circus lessons, costume making and of course the annual Falls Village Fiesta at 6pm on the 31st.

Some of the highlights for me personally include finally seeing The Living End perform live, being in the midst of a chilled out Paul Kelly ‘moshpit’ and seeing some classic artists that I would have thought I was born too late to see such as Joan Jett and Flavor Flav in Public Enemy. My Favourite moment from the festival was in fact Public Enemy coming out and doing exactly what the did 20 years ago when ‘Fear Of A Black Planet’ was first released.

Getting there and back was considerably less painful than I had prepared myself for and it made the experience all the more enjoyable. All in all I would say that the 2010-11 Falls Music and Arts Festival in Marion bay was a complete success and I look forward to attending the 2011-12 event.

-Luke

About this entry